Overview of the Department

The department of Political Science is one of the oldest departments of the college. It was established in 1962, offering a paper to B.A students. It invite students to develop the analytical and critical skills  necessary to understand the contemporary social and practical issues. The special emphasis is to Educate students by imparting values and knowledge to work with excellence in the society.


To develop better citizenship, inculcate civic sense and political consciousness among students to promote peace, unity, solidarity and integrity of the nation.


  • To equip students with knowledge and understanding to achieve high academic standards.
  • To help students to work for social justice and promote human dignity in society.
  • To discover their potentials and channelize them to form integrated personalities.
  • Sensitize them to appreciate and respect other faiths and help them to act responsibly in relation to themselves and others.
  • Prepare students to face social realities and promote peace and unity of the nation.


Ms. A. Jyothsna Valenteena, HoD
Ms. Ch. Geetha Devi
Dr. B. Rajendra Prasad